Anne-Sophie Mutter & friends


Sunday 12 april - 20h30

Grand Théâtre de Provence

The gifted violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter, dubbed the “revelation of the century” by Herbert von Karajan, surrounds herself with three soloists, Ye-Eun Choi, Vladimir Babeshko and Daniel Müller-Schott, to form an explosive ensemble, with a positively eruptive sensibility.

To mark the 250th anniversary of the birth of Beethoven, these musicians and friends pay tribute by starting off their concert with the elegant mischievousness of the early String Trio. They will follow this with the String Quartet n°10, a later piece whose numerous pizzicatos led to it being referred to as the “Harp Quartet”. Jörg Widmann's String Quartet n°6 was composed with an eye on the work of the Viennese master, borrowing certain Beethovenesque elements freely. The result is a modern piece, that nevertheless remains anchored in the purest tradition of the Austrian string quartet.

From €13 to €75
Premium : 105 €
  • Anne-Sophie Mutter, violin
    Ye-Eun Choi, violin
    Vladimir Babeshko, viola
    Daniel Müller-Schott, cello

    • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
    • String Trio No. 5 in C minor
      Study on Beethoven, String Quartet No. 6 (French premiere)
    • Jörg Widmann (né en 1973)
    • Study on Beethoven, String Quartet No. 6 (French premiere)