Edition 2018

Hagen Quartet


Saturday 07 april - 12h00

Théâtre du Jeu de Paume

Founded in 1981, the Hagen quartet perfected its art alongside Nikolaus Harnoncourt and Gidon Kremer, taking turns with both the old repertoire and contemporary music.

Their eclectic programme is made up of three pieces composed by composers in their youth, beginning with Beethoven's String Quartet n° 3. Webern's Quartet 1905” retains the mark of Schoenberg, his teacher and master of new music in Vienna.

Finally, Debussy's String quartet (1893) is an atypical piece among his parsimonious production of chamber music: the repetition of the same melody with varying traits in the four movements, is enriched by the alacrity in the writing for strings.

  • Hagen Quartet
    Lukas Hagen, violin
    Rainer Schmidt, violin
    Veronika Hagen, viola
    Clemens Hagen, cello

    • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
    • String Quartet No. 3 in D major, op. 18, No. 3
    • Anton Webern (1883-1945)
    • Streichquartett "1905"
    • Claude Debussy (1862–1918)
    • String quartet in G minor, Op. 10