Edition 2018



Saturday 31 march - 20h30

Grand Théâtre de Provence

Yefim Bronfman will play Schubert's Sonata in C instead of Stravinsky's Petrushka.


An undisputed star of the piano in the United States, Yefim Bronfman blends the intelligence of his playing, “enigma and mystery” (Washington Post) with “the strength of his faultless technique” (Concertclassic).

His programme constitutes a blend of poetic intimacy and virtuosity with two pieces from Schumann: the magnificent Arabeske and its stormy refrain, then Humoreske. Debussy's Suite bergamasque is discreetly haunted by baroque music and finally, the three movements of Petrushka will dazzle the audience with its raw, granite sound.

  • Yefim Bronfman, piano

    • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
    • Arabeske in C major, Op. 18
      Humoreske in B-flat major, Op. 20
    • Claude Debussy (1862–1918)
    • Suite bergamasque
    • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
    • Sonata in C minor, D. 958