Edition 2018



Friday 30 march - 18h00

Conservatoire Darius Milhaud

Aix Easter Festival this year pays homage to Éric Tanguy, “one  of the most encouraging examples of savant music today, rich   in imagination, superbly constructed and accessible to everyone” (Olivier Bellamy). Tanguy is an apostle of a generation intent on clearing a path between pure abstraction and a reassuring return to old recipes.

In the beautiful auditorium of the Conservatoire Darius Milhaud, a string quartet of young performers, along with the excellent pianist Suzana Bartal present five short, lyrical and dramatic pieces. Éric Tanguy has requested that his work be played alongside two pages of romantic chamber music of deeply expressive intensity: Schubert's Adagio and Mahler's Quartet for piano and strings, where melancholy pushes him to fury.

  • Rosanne Philippens, violon
    Alina Pogostkina, violon
    Lise Berthaud, alto
    Claudio Bohórquez, violoncelle
    Suzana Bartal, piano

    • Eric Tanguy (born 1968)
    • Trio for violin, cello and piano
      Sonata for 2 violins
      « Rhapsodie » pour alto et piano, world premiere commissioned by Aix Easter Festival
      "Spirales" for cello and piano
      "In a Dream" for violon and piano
    • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
    • Notturno in E-flat major, op. 148
    • Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)
    • Quartet for piano, violin, alto and cello