Edition 2014

Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Martha Argerich

Thursday 24 april - 20h30

Grand Théâtre de Provence

Martha Argerich is the iconic pianist for the century, unanimously praised in the press and by her peers. Her presence in Aix is exceptional and will be marked by a performance of Beethoven's Piano concerto n°1, one of the composer's most enthusiastic pieces. The pianist will be accompanied by the Chamber Orchestra of Europe that brings together the best soloists from the European Union, and has done so since its foundation in 1981. The fine and precise baton of Emmanuel Krivine will bring the orchestra to life.

The concerto will be preceded by another piece by Beethoven, the Egmont overture with its tragic, at times clashing, but always striking gust. On the contrary, a more popular sense of drama inhabits the very lyrical Dvorak's Symphony n° 8, his last philharmonic opus before the famous New World Symphony.

  • Chamber Orchestra of Europe
    Emmanuel Krivine, conductor
    Martha Argerich, piano

    • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
    • Egmont overture

      Piano concerto n°1
    • Antonin Dvorak (1841-1904)
    • Symphony No.8 in G major, Op.88, B.163