Marc Minkowski


Wednesday 19 april - 20h30

Grand Théâtre de Provence


A first-timer at the Easter Festival, the Orchestre National de Bordeaux-Aquitaine is one of the country's best orchestras. Under the direction of Marc Minkowski, it proposes a programme that is entirely dedicated to the shimmering melodies and muted colours of French music, between the Belle époque and the Années folles.

Beginning with Ravel, followed by Fauré with Edgar Moreau, “the little Prince of the cello” (Culturebox), will play one of the most moving pages ever written for his instrument: the Elégie where the soloist plays the melody as if floating above the room, followed by Poulenc with the soprano Annick Massis.

L'Arlésienne (1872) by Georges Bizet, a suite of four movements, with famous melodies, composed after an adaptation of Lettres de mon moulin closes the concert.

  • Orchestre National  Bordeaux Aquitaine
    Choeur de l'Opéra National de Bordeaux 
    Marc Minkowski, conductor
    Annick Massis, soprano
    Edgar Moreau, cello

    • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
    • Ma Mère l'Oye
    • Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
    • Élégie for cello and orchestra, op. 24
    • Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
    • Gloria
    • Georges Bizet (1838-1875)
    • L'Arlésienne (Suites No.1 and No.2)